Tassimo T20 Single Serve Coffee Maker Review and Giveaway

By: Keith

I got my hands on a Tassimo T20 single serve coffee machine this week (from the marketing company in charge of social media and blog outreach for Bosch and Tassimo), and I’m here to review it and give one away to one of my readers.  It’s my job to give this machine an honest review, and that’s exactly what I’m going to do.  I already own a Keurig single serve coffee maker which I’ve gotten good use out of for the last three years.  I like it, but I’m also curious about how it stacks up against the Bosch machine.  To be fair though, my Keurig is the B70, not the comparable B40.  Nevertheless, I like my B70, and I want to like the Tassimo, too.              

               

Opening the Box:              

               

Talk about easy to use!  I opened the box, removed the Tassimo T20, filled the tank, plugged it in, and followed the instruction to run 4, 8 oz cups of water through it before making my first cup of coffee.  Then I made the first cup of coffee.  The total time from opening the box to making coffee was less than 5 minutes.  Initial setup then is about 5 minutes.  Each successive cup of coffee is about a minute.  Thus, the thing is ridiculously easy to use.  In other words, if your grandma needs a coffee maker, and you’re feel generous this Christmas, she will definitely be able to work this thing.               

               

Why It’s a Good Choice:              

               

1. Good Coffee:  The coffee is good.  It isn’t instant coffee or anything horrible like that, and it’s not super great coffee house coffee, but it is better than average.  For non-coffee snobs like me better than average is good enough.              

               

2. Design:  The thing looks a lot less gangly than my Keurig B70 and takes up much less space. It’s solid (like the Keurig), the washable bits are easy to remove (unlike my Keurig), and the button, just the one, is impossible to miss.              

               

3. Customized Serving Size:  My B70 comes with 4 sizes 6, 8, 10, 12 oz servings.  The Keurig B40 only comes with two.  The Tassimo T20 comes with one, standard, 8 oz size, but you can manually hold the button down to keep dispensing until your coffee becomes weaker if that’s your preference.  Or, you can press the button before brewing is finished to stop the process prematurely to make a stonger brew.  In other words, with just one button the Tassimo T20 comes with more sizing options than even my B70.              

               

4. Reasonably Quiet:  I’ve owned a Keurig B40 in the past.  They’re noisy little machines.  The Tassimo T20 is not.  It’s not exactly quiet, but it doesn’t sound like it’s taking off either.  The Tassimo T20 is a much better engineered machine than the Keurig B40, and it’s obvious; my B40 lasted less than a year before it died (the B70 is a different story entirely; it’s been super reliable).              

               

5. Automatic Descaling Notification:  Coffee machines need occasional descaling.  That’s when minerals from water eventually build up on the walls of the machine and affect taste and clog tubes.  The Tassimo T20 has a light that illuminates when you’re supposed to descale.  That’s a handy feature (also present on my Keurig B70 and the B40).    

      

6. Smart Pods (T-Discs):  This is something that Keurig does not have.  The Tassimo T-Discs each have a bar code that tells the machine how much water to dispense.  So, for instance, if you’re making a cappuccino (an option with T-Discs) the machine only dispenses 3 ounces to make an espresso shot.  Then, to complete the cappuccino, there’s a separate T-Disc that you put in that makes the milk foam – cool.  Thus, depending on what sort of coffee you buy, the machine gives you the proper size automatically without you having to do anything extra.  This is a major advancement over all the Keurig machines, including the B70.                 

               

One Major Complaint:              

               

Too Damn Expensive: Not the machine.  The machine is competitively priced and completely worth the expense when compared to its weaker competition.  It’s the pods that are way too expensive.  60 Tassimo coffee pods (they call them T-Discs) sell for $53 on Amazon.  I saw them for sale today at Safeway for $11 for a package of 16 pods.  The Keurig pods are sold on Amazon for $26 for 48 pods.  Target sells the Keurig pods for $60 for 108 pods.  The price discrepancy is due to the bar code feature of the T-Discs so you have to decide if that feature is worth the added price per cup of coffee from the Tassimo vs. the Keurig machines.  The taste alone is not significantly different to warrant double the price in my opinion.  In fact, considering that I think the Keurig Pods are pretty expensive the T-Discs are almost prohibitively expensive.  Side Note:  Both are cheap when compared to a cup of Starbucks coffee (which, in my opinion, doesn’t taste any better than Tassimo T-Disc or Keurig Pod coffee).  Thus, if you’re the kind of person who’s addicted to Starbucks on your way to work every morning, you’d be much better served, despite the price tag, making Tassimo coffee at home.             

               

Use Filtered Water:              

               

Fill the tank with filtered water.  Coffee and tea always taste better with pure water, but it also cuts down on the need to descale.  I haven’t descaled my Keurig in more than a year thanks to using filtered instead of tap water.  I have a Zojirushi hot water pot that also has gone without descaling for more than a year.  Before filtered water I could taste a difference in my beverages, and I was descaling every 3 months.  Filtered water makes all the difference!            

              

             

               

The Honest Trade Off:              

               

You have a choice.  You can go the quick and dirty route of instant swill (reference Starbucks Via packets); you’ll save some money, and make quick coffee, but your taste buds will suffer.  You can go the route of an aluminum espresso maker which is cheap, and makes excellent tasting coffee, but it takes time and is messy.  You can spend tons of money and buy a mechanical espresso maker which will take your time and your money but also give superb coffee.  How about a French Press?  It’s cheap, true; and it makes great coffee quickly.  But, it’s messy and cleaning up after yourself is a drag.  Then there are all the choices with the single serve makers and drip machines.              

               

I love my Keurig B70.  But, it’s way more expensive than the Tassimo T20.  The Tassimo T20 is a better machine by a long shot than its main competition, the Keurig B40, but the outrageous price of the T-Discs make the choice less simple than it should be.  Do I want a superior machine or cheaper pods?  I’m still inclined to prefer my B70 only because the pods are so much cheaper (yet still pretty expensive) and the machine is competently built and reliable.  But, if I had to choose between the Tassimo T20 and the Keurig B40, its rival, the Tassimo would win hands down.  The Tassimo T20 is the superior machine, and the T-Disk price is bearable if only to have a machine that’s reliable.  But, really, Tassimo needs to do something about the price of their T-Disks because that’s the only thing keeping anybody from preferring the Tassimo over a Keurig.                

             

The Giveaway:              

               

Tassimo is going to send one of my readers a free Tassimo T20!  What do you have to do to get it?  Simple. Leave me a comment here on the blog, below, in the comment section, “like” my fan-page on Facebook and also click “like” on the Tassimo Facebook page.  Do those things and you’ll be entered to win the machine.  Easy Peasy!  I’m going to randomly pick a winner next Wednesday, December 22 (using Random.org), to announce the winner on Thursday (should make a good Christmas present for someone!).  I rarely get tons of comments so your chances are pretty good.  Yay, you!  The winner, when selected, will have 24 hours to respond, (I’ll contact you via e-mail and add a comment on this article just in case you miss the e-mail) before I move on to an alternate.   Oh, and I apologize to my international audience, but we can only ship to an address in the United States.          

   

  

UPDATE: The giveaway has now ended.  Tabitha B was the winner!  Congratulations, Tabitha! 

150 Responses to “Tassimo T20 Single Serve Coffee Maker Review and Giveaway”
  1. Dennis P December 18, 2010 at 3:53 pm #

    Keith, I REALLY want to win this contest of yours because my wife REALLY wants one of these machines. I can’t really afford to buy her one for Christmas, so I’m crossing my fingers that I can get lucky with your give away.
    Great video by the way!
    Dennis

  2. Mitzi December 18, 2010 at 3:53 pm #

    Wow! Thanks for the review! My husband and I have been contemplating getting one of these for months now. Our drip machine is heading out and we weren’t happy with it anyway. Definitely am article that will help us make our decision! We thought about a pod machine because we both drink completely different coffees and this would accommodate both our tastes. BUT the pod price might annoy me too….

  3. Angie B December 18, 2010 at 4:02 pm #

    liked your FB page and Tassimo’s FB page. (Angela Beechan)

  4. Lisa December 18, 2010 at 4:42 pm #

    I’d love to get out of cleaning my French press every day! Great giveaway!!

  5. Kody Wilcox December 18, 2010 at 4:43 pm #

    I hope i win! WOO HOO!

  6. Paradox13VA December 18, 2010 at 5:31 pm #

    I’ve never been big on the single-cup coffee machines, so thanks for this review and perspective. I like my brew, but my tastes in coffee have stultified in the past five years or so.

  7. Cynthia December 18, 2010 at 6:30 pm #

    We’re in need of a new coffee machine, our Senseo croaked recently…thanks for the chance to win.

  8. Raven In A Blue Room December 18, 2010 at 6:31 pm #

    I like Keith Wilcox & Tassimo on facebook (Louis Here)
    Thank you for hosting this giveaway

    Louis
    schnitzomage {at} gmail {dot} com

  9. ethan b. December 18, 2010 at 6:36 pm #

    Good info…thanks for this I’m considering them…

  10. Dawn DeVore December 18, 2010 at 6:57 pm #

    Two questions; Are tea pods available? If so, if one makes a coffe and then a tea, will the tea taste like coffee? Thanks for the review.

    • Keith December 18, 2010 at 9:51 pm #

      Dawn, I haven’t tried tea pods on the Tassimo, so I don’t know how that works. I did try tea pods on my Keurig though, and they didn’t leave any coffee taste. However, tea doesn’t lend itself well to being brewed at the same temperature as coffee (Green tea should be steeped between 175-185 degrees but coffee needs to be above 192 to taste good). For tea I use my hot water pot instead of my instant brew machine. Thanks for asking!

  11. Dennis Yu December 18, 2010 at 7:09 pm #

    Hey, I’d like to enter! Thus, I’m leaving my comment here and liking both pages.

  12. Vince Burns December 18, 2010 at 7:39 pm #

    Cool contest idea!

  13. Maureen Torma December 18, 2010 at 8:17 pm #

    I also have owned a Keurig for almost 3 years now. I love, love it. However, last weekend I was at a retail who was giving out samples of the Tassimo and the latte was fabulous. And that, sadly, you cannot do on the Keurig. The milk foamed up without the hassle of using one of those wands on an expresso maker and nothing to clean up….sigh…I have a new love…now what to do, what to do. I have been checking the prices online for Tassimo T discs also. Nothing less than Amazon with the auto delivery…now to find space in the kitchen.

  14. Paula Bondy December 18, 2010 at 8:17 pm #

    WOW…thanks for the review. I’ve been thinking of getting a Keurig. I have a Senseo but it is getting harder and harder to purchase the pods for that machine. Maybe my lucky fairy will bring me a Tassimo! Happy Holidays everyone….

  15. Margie December 18, 2010 at 8:21 pm #

    Wonderful little machine and makes fabulous coffee – just one cup at a time – perfect for me as I am a real picky coffee person and do not like coffee that has been sitting on a brewer for hours getting old and nasty tasting. Would love to win this coffee maker – would make my day ..!

  16. Eric December 18, 2010 at 8:23 pm #

    I’m wasting too much coffee right now by making enough for me and my wife then she doesn’t drink it. This will be better.

    Liked both pages.

  17. KENNETH MUSSEL December 18, 2010 at 8:26 pm #

    Tassimo is a quality brand. Sure would love to win this super cool prize. Happy Holidays to Tassimo and everyone. MERRY XMAS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  18. Sherry Russell December 18, 2010 at 8:30 pm #

    My curosity has been peaked about this coffee machine. thank you.

  19. Mary Luther December 18, 2010 at 8:33 pm #

    I am not a coffee snob, I like a good cup of coffee that is fast and not instant. Thanks for your outlook on the maker, I had been wondering if it would be a good idea to invest in.

  20. Jackie R December 18, 2010 at 8:35 pm #

    I have been intriged by this machine because I am a die hard cappuccino fan. I thought maybe this machine will make a good cappuccino. Thanks for your imput. Very informative!!

  21. Jan December 18, 2010 at 8:36 pm #

    You have no idea how much I would give for a good cup of coffee. My ole cheapo coffee pot seems to burn the coffee. Come onTassimo gimme, gimme, gimme. Nice Christmas spirit right?

  22. Denise December 18, 2010 at 8:41 pm #

    Did someone say give away? Ha! Honestly, someone brought theirs to a beach party the other week and it was the hit of the party. Good read today Keith.

  23. Pam Pearce December 18, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

    Wonderful idea for a contest. I have been very interested in the differences between the coffee makers. Thanks for the information!

  24. Michelle Harris December 18, 2010 at 8:47 pm #

    I to own a Keurig mini it doesn’t have much oppions on it and it’s only one size cup.If you want flavored coffees you have to send away for them or go with what ever they happen to have in the stores,I just started drinking coffee again 3 years ago whenI lost my 21 year old son and having that cup brighted my day Then my father-in-law died first day of 2010 in May my Sister was killed in a semi wreack 3 years to the day that my son had died we buried here even on the same day with out relizing that it was till after.Everytime Something has gone wrong I have to have the cup with me to calm me down just when I think things will get better something comes along that even ti some it;s just a cup of joe My 21 year old brother died in October and am just lost I want to try new things and since aI lve coffee so much I wou like to get a chance to use a nd give a honest feeling about the machine

  25. Bob December 18, 2010 at 9:43 pm #

    Keep your Tassimo…..I love my Keurig! 169.00 was well worth it, Retired my 200.00 Bunn after trying one.

  26. Ann McDonald December 18, 2010 at 9:55 pm #

    I have a Senseo maker and it’s just OK. The pods are considerably cheaper (4.24 at Walmart) and the coffee is good enough for this coffee snob. Btw… I hate Starbucks coffee, it’s too bitter and addind all that junk doesn’t appeal to me. Flavored coffee…hum…just like a good medium to darker roast like the Sumatra Senseo sells. No gimmicks or add ons save for real cream and some sugar. Would love to try this machine out though. Good luck to all and blessings for a happy holiday season!

  27. Gwen Laferriere December 18, 2010 at 10:16 pm #

    Keith – I too have a Keurig but it is making really strange sounds all of a sudden and I am afraid it is on it’s way out. It’s just over a year old and I received it as a gift from my beautiful daughter and her 3 kids and 3 adopted kids.

    I love the single serve and would love the specialty drinks the Tassimo would provide. I am on a fixed income and would never be able to buy one myself. So I would really LOVE to win this. Especially if my Keurig is as Is suspect and on it’s way out.

    Please consider me when drawing for your winner.

    Thanks and Merry Christmas to you and yours.
    Gwen

  28. Toni M December 18, 2010 at 10:22 pm #

    I don’t own a coffee maker. So, I would love to win a Tassimo machine! I need the caffeine to keep up with my 3 yr old. He has difficulty sleeping through the night & sometimes will be up all night. So, this would definitely come in handy!
    I “like” your fan-page & Tassimo’s fan- page on Facebook! (FB Name: Silver Bella)
    silverbella11 at gmail dot com

  29. Captain Dumbass December 18, 2010 at 10:24 pm #

    We have a Kuerig machine at work which is great since you barely have to wait a minute for a cup.

  30. Cathy Frank December 18, 2010 at 10:50 pm #

    Thank you so much for the review. I really feel like I was step by step trying out this machine with you. I have the Kuerig and I love it. I was visiting my cousin and she had this Tassimo in her home. She always has the best of everything. I thought I finally was one up when I got my Kuerig and then wouldn’t you know she out did me one more time. Ha! I would love to win one too it would make a great birthday gift for my birthday is on the 20th.
    Happy Holidays to all who are reading this and to you for writing this and having the contest.:)

  31. David Chaille December 18, 2010 at 11:24 pm #

    I saw this coffee maker demonstrated in the Bed, Bath and Beyond Store. The coffee was superb!!

  32. Erica Best December 19, 2010 at 12:01 am #

    wow thanks look like a great coffee maker and i would love to win it.

  33. Carole Jacobs December 19, 2010 at 12:08 am #

    My son has this fantastic machine and while visiting he made me the best coffee for my lattes’ dreaming of winning one for myself. Thanks for sponsoring a great sweepstakes.

  34. Julie Smith December 19, 2010 at 12:25 am #

    Yay! Thanks for giving us the opportunity to win something. Especially now during the holidays!

  35. Tabathia B December 19, 2010 at 12:53 am #

    Like both on fb (michelle barrett)
    tbarrettno1 at gmail dot com

    thanks for the giveaway

  36. Sally Dinius December 19, 2010 at 12:56 am #

    Great review! I’ve been wanting either one if these or a Keurig for our kitchen for quite some time now. It would be so convenient for when my husband or I want just one cup (we waste so much coffee because we never drink a full pot). Thanks! :-)

  37. Mikki Cross December 19, 2010 at 2:36 am #

    I would love to win this Tassimo coffee machine. My daughter makes the coffee in the morning and by the time I get up the coffee is stale and cold. I wind up heating it in a microwave rather than waste it. If I had this machine I’d always have fresh coffee.

  38. TAMMII L. PETERSON December 19, 2010 at 2:42 am #

    thank you for the chance to read your review, kieth. a friend of mine has 1 of the tassimo machines & she loves it!! i love using it everytime i go over to her home! i’m extremely jealous of her! it’s been the #1 item on my christmas/birthday/mommy’s day/anniversary gift wish list ever since it came out on the market!! but so far thats all it’s been…just a wish!!
    i was diagnosed with breat cancer last year & had a single mastectomy in august of last yeay. that combined with all of the other medical bills we have (i had to have 5 surgeries last year!) means extras like wanting a tassimo just isnt in the cards right now!
    so, for now, i’m forced to buy my little packets of coffee & take them to my friends home for a “coffee break” while entering contests like yours to try to win my own!!
    i hope you have a wonderful christmas holiday & an exciting new year!! may all of your christmas wishes come true!!
    YOUR NEW FAN,
    TAMMII L. PETERSON
    MYALASKA@CHARTER.NET

  39. Debra Hall December 19, 2010 at 3:04 am #

    boy i want to win this!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  40. Amber Gi December 19, 2010 at 3:26 am #

    hopefully the tdisc price will drop when it isn’t “new” anymore?
    tattgiff at centurytel dot net

  41. Amber Gi December 19, 2010 at 3:28 am #

    i liked both pages… enjoyed your bio!
    tattgiff at centurytel dot net

  42. Anna December 19, 2010 at 5:16 am #

    I’ve been interested in these single pod machines for work. I liked both pages.

  43. Joan December 19, 2010 at 5:55 am #

    I always appreciate a good cup of coffee. Of course, I already liked your fan page a long time ago. Liked the other page. Merry Christmas!

  44. john moldt December 19, 2010 at 6:07 am #

    We saw a demonstration at the mall and bought one for Norm J. (my father inlaw and my wife’s stepfather). He loves it.

  45. Roger Peterson, Jr. December 19, 2010 at 7:16 am #

    I liked both your pages on facebook. My wife would love to get one of these for Xmas. She complains about our cheap coffee maker all the time. After 22 years of marriage I’d like to give her something that would make her happy. Who knows maybe it will make me extra happy on Xmas too. Thanks for the opportunity to enter this contest. Hope you have a good Xmas too. Roger

  46. Dasuri December 19, 2010 at 7:24 am #

    I absolutely LOVE MY TASSIMO!!!!! I would love to be able to give one to my son and daughter in law, they tried mine and fell in love with it but can’t afford one of their own. They have 2 beautiful young daughters and give up buying things for themselves to be able to provide a loving happy home for the girls. I do so hope that I win the TASSIMO, they would be so overjoyed and so would I.
    I make coffee, latte’s capps, hot chocolate in my Tassimo and I love it. I especially love how I can make the various drinks customized to my taste.
    Thank you.

  47. Theres Nicholson December 19, 2010 at 7:25 am #

    Thanks for the review – the Tassimo machine sounds great! I would love to win one!

  48. Ann K December 19, 2010 at 7:44 am #

    ‘liked’ and ‘liked’ !! Would make the perfect birthday gift for my son who turns 18 on Dec 22nd…….oh, but, he doesn’t drink coffee….so, he’ll just have to give it to me :)

  49. MummaB December 19, 2010 at 8:07 am #

    i like coffee, yes i do! great review Keith. We use an old fashioned drip pot right now, which is great, but ive always wondered if the pods really were better coffee than that. not worth the money for me to experiment lol

  50. Angie December 19, 2010 at 8:11 am #

    Awesome giveaway!!! Would love to try it out. :)

  51. Laura from Fargo December 19, 2010 at 8:55 am #

    I find myself hoping Keith wins.

    • Keith December 19, 2010 at 8:59 am #

      Laura: No, I’m not going to enter myself :-) I promise, totally random!

  52. tammigirl December 19, 2010 at 9:12 am #

    I liked your fan page & Tassimo’s fan page. This is a very thorough review made even better since you have owned the b40 and the b70 Keurig machines. Even with the expensive discs, after winning the machine I think it would be fantastic!

    I would love to eliminate the mess my family members are able to make with a regular coffee maker. Unbelievable!

  53. Geneva P December 19, 2010 at 9:14 am #

    this would be a fun christmas gift for my mom!

  54. Michelle Champley December 19, 2010 at 9:19 am #

    I’d love to get this for my husband. We own a Kuerig at home and I use it everyday instead of Starbucks. My husband needs to snip the spending at Starbucks for his daily kick, so this would sit really well on his office desk at work. I’ll cross my fingers and see if I actually win something in my life. :)

  55. Leslie Block December 19, 2010 at 9:55 am #

    I have dying to get my hands on one of these!! This would save me a ton of money every month, instead of going to coffee shops to get my cup of coffee/latte/frappe/cappuccino, this would easily save me hundred dollars or so ever month! Ive been wanting one of these sense the first time I saw it!!

    I am Keith Wilcox newest fan on facebook!

    I also am an existing fan of Tassimo on facebook!

    Blockleslie@ymail.com

  56. Laurie December 19, 2010 at 10:05 am #

    Love coffee …. love simplicity …. love convenience … by the way, are you single?? ;)

    • Keith December 19, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

      Laurie: Thanks for asking, but no, I’m not single. Seriously, though, you Rock for asking! :-)

  57. Lou Adams December 19, 2010 at 10:09 am #

    I have the large Cuisinart Keurig and I love it,,but after watching your video, I’m thinking this would be perfect for taking to my work place. No more coffee from a thermos, or a pot sitting there going stale!

  58. Betty Vincent December 19, 2010 at 10:11 am #

    Living alone, pod coffee is the only way to go~~that way all my cups of coffee are just brewed!

  59. Tina Seagraves December 19, 2010 at 10:55 am #

    Love Coffee !!!!!!!!! I wanna win it though for my daughter… :0)

  60. Joe December 19, 2010 at 10:56 am #

    I would love to have this coffee maker.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Which Single Serve Coffee Maker Is The Best Choice? : Single Serve Coffee Review - October 3, PM

    [...] get the best coffee maker for you. Then sit down and relax and enjoy your fantastic cup of coffee. Single Serve Coffee Maker Choices There is a large amount of choices when it comes to single cup cof…ong> to pick will be your personal preference and whether or not you will be able to get your [...]

  2. Your Questions About Keurig Coffee Machines | coffee machine secrets - October 18, PM

    [...] with the same easy to use machine. The machines also take creamer "pods."Powered by Yahoo! AnswersChris asks…Keurig Coffee Machine Problem?We have a Keurig coffee machine and it worked for quite a…lass="dtm-content">Keurig Coffee Machine Problem?We have a Keurig coffee machine and it worked for [...]

  3. Toro Snow Blower Review and Giveaway! The Power Curve 1800 - February 4, PM

    [...] bad review on a legitimate product. Thus, the only items I review are the ones that really hit me as something potentially useful (Why, for instance, should I review peanut butter? We’re talking peanuts, something that does [...]

Leave a Reply